Back To Top

g.o.d. releases ‘Sky Blue Promise’

Reunited K-pop group g.o.d. released “Sky Blue Promise” off their eighth album online, Tuesday.

The song topped nine local online music charts after its release at noon.

The track is written by renowned Korean producer duo Double Kick, who also wrote g.o.d’s last single, “The Lone Duckling,” released earlier in May to much acclaim.

“Sky Blue Promise” talks about both the present and the past of the group and its promise to fans. The song includes lyrics from g.o.d’s past hit songs.
g.o.d. (Olive TV)
g.o.d. (Olive TV)

On Sunday, g.o.d. released a surprise teaser video for “Sky Blue Promise.” In the short clip, the five members dance and groove as they listen to the song.

The full album will be released on July 8. Its tracks will feature a broad variety of music styles from the group’s signature tone to new genres.

“The album contains diverse genres of music, with half of the album written by Double Kick and the other half by Kim Tae-woo, the group’s leading vocalist, and other writers,” a representative of the group’s agency SidusHQ said. “It was very difficult to choose the title track from the high quality songs.”

The group is planning on producing four music videos in total: two main music videos and two film music videos.

g.o.d. will kick off its 15th Anniversary Reunion Concert on July 12 and 13 at the Auxiliary Stadium at Sport Complex in Jamsil, Seoul and continue with performances in Gwangju on Aug. 2-3, Busan on Aug. 15-16, in Daegu on Aug. 23-24 and Daejeon on Aug. 30-31. All the concert tickets sold out immediately after sales opened.

“We have received concert offers from four cities in America and ten cities in China,” SidusHQ representative said. “g.o.d. has not actively performed much on foreign stages, but it testifies to the group’s undying popularity. We are currently considering the options for concerts abroad.”

g.o.d. (Groove Overdose) debuted in 1999 with the single “Dear Mother” and become famous with hits such as “Love and Remember” and “Lie.” After member Yoon Kye-sang left the group in 2004, the remaining four members released their seventh studio album “Into the Sky” in 2005. They indefinitely parted ways shortly after to follow their solo careers until they reunited this year.

By Ahn Sung-mi (
Korea Herald Youtube