The Korea Herald


US congressmen reaffirm unwavering support for alliance with S. Korea

By 김윤미

Published : Dec. 19, 2016 - 21:21

    • Link copied

A group of United States congressmen reaffirmed Monday that their support for a strong South Korea-US alliance will remain unwavering in any circumstance, a pledge which came after President Park Geun-hye's impeachment earlier in the month.

Acting President Hwang Kyo-ahn met with six US House of Representatives members, including Peter Anderson (Republic-Texas), who are visiting South Korea.

In the meeting, Hwang highlighted that the government's policy lines, including those on the alliance, remain unchanged and state affairs are managed in a stable manner despite the recent impeachment, according to a press release from his office.

He is currently acting as the president since President Park Geun-hye was impeached on Dec. 9 for allegedly colluding with her close friend to force companies to donate a huge amount of funds.

Now Park is awaiting the Constitutional Court's final decision on whether to accept the parliamentary impeachment.

"Under any circumstances or changes, the US Congress' support toward the South Korea-U.S. alliance will be the same," the press release quoted the US congressmen as having said during the meeting with Hwang.

The close relations between the allies should continue to develop, the US lawmakers also said, underlining that their latest visit is intended to cement the US Congress' solid support for the alliance.

The congressmen also promised the US' relentless backing of the South Korean government's policy toward North Korea and its nuclear program as Hwang appealed for the US Congress' interest in implementing sanctions on the communist country, according to the press release.

The two sides also delved into their bilateral free trade agreement, assessing that it has been a key economic pillar of Washington's relations with the East Asian region.

The six-men delegation also included William Keating (Democrat-Massachusetts), Patrick Meehan (R-Pennsylvania), David CiCilline (D-Rhode island), Paul Cook (R-California) and Dan Newhouse (R-Washington). (Yonhap)