Back To Top

Bernhard Schlink wins Park Kyung-ni Literary Prize

German novelist Bernhard Schlink has been picked as this year’s recipient of the Park Kyung-ni Literary Prize, the award’s organizers said Wednesday.

The 70-year-old writer is best known for his award-winning 1995 novel “The Reader,” which was also adapted into an eponymous screenplay, and “Homecoming” in 2006.

His works shed light on the postwar generation’s view of Nazism through a strong narrative structure, the award organizer, the Toji Foundation of Culture, said in a press statement.
Bernhard Schlink
Bernhard Schlink

“His work combines literary and historical value harmoniously,” it said.

The annual award was established in 2011 to honor the late novelist Park, a major figure in Korean literature known for her multivolume novel “Toji (The Land).” The first recipient was the Korean novelist Choi In-hoon, author of “The Plaza,” followed by Russian novelist Ludmila Ulitskaya, author of “Daniel Stein, Interpreter,” and U.S. novelist Marilynne Robinson, author of “Housekeeping,” in 2012 and 2013, respectively.

This year’s award ceremony will be held Oct. 25.

By Ahn Sung-mi (