[World Cup] Germany defeats Argentina 1-0 to win World Cup title

By 신용배
  • Published : Jul 14, 2014 - 07:02
  • Updated : Jul 14, 2014 - 14:00

Germany's players celebrate with the World Cup trophy after winning the 2014 FIFA World Cup final football match between Germany and Argentina 1-0 following extra-time at the Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on Sunday. (AP-Yonhap)

RIO DE JANEIRO -- Second-half substitute Mario Goetze broke a scoreless deadlock in extra time in the World Cup final with Argentina to crown Germany the victors of soccer’s biggest international tournament on Sunday night at Maracana Stadium.

Andre Schurrle sped down the left past Argentina’s defense to cross deep into the center to Gotze, who brought the ball down on his chest before volleying it past goalkeeper Sergio Romero and into the corner in the 113th minute to score the lone goal.

Gotze called the win a “dream come true” and “absolutely sensational.”

The victory gives Germany its fourth title in a historic final rematch of the two after Germany beat Argentina in Rome in 1990. Germany has also earned the status as the first European team to win the World Cup on South American soil.

Germany’s tournament included a draw with Ghana and victories over Portugal, the U.S., Algeria, France in the quarterfinals and Brazil in the semifinals.

Gotze was named man of the match, while Manuel Neuer was awarded the Golden Glove award for best goalkeeper after his side conceded four goals in seven matches.

Argentina’s captain and striker Lionel Messi, who scored four goals in the team’s first three games, won the Golden Ball award, awarded to the tournament’s best player.

Meanwhile, Colombia’s James Rodriguez also picked up the adidas Golden Boot, and Paul Pogba of France picked up the Hyundai Young Player Award:

By Elaine Ramirez, Korea Herald correspondent

Germany's players celebrate after winning on extra time at the World Cup final soccer match between Germany and Argentina at the Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Sunday, July 13, 2014. Germany won 1-0.(AP-Yonhap)