Big Bang’s Taeyang on rise with second solo album

By Korea Herald
  • Published : Jun 3, 2014 - 20:37
  • Updated : Jun 3, 2014 - 20:38
Pop-locking dance machine and R&B vocalist Taeyang from leading K-pop boy band Big Bang has made his solo return with the unveiling of his second full studio solo album “Rise” on Tuesday.

Coming nearly four years since the release of debut studio album “Solar,” Taeyang’s new album features nine tracks that were composed in collaboration with YG Entertainment’s go-to producers Teddy and DEE.P, as well as fellow label mates G-Dragon and Tablo of Epik High. Taeyang himself also took part in the album’s composition, including lead track “Eyes, Nose, Lips.”

The slowed tempo R&B song, where the artist appears to pay tribute to soul by belting out the occasional Bruno Mars-like trademark high octave interludes, touches upon missing every feature of the woman one loves ― right down to her eyes, nose and lips. 
Taeyang of Big Bang. (YG Entertainment)

The official music video for “Eyes, Nose, Lips” was also released on Tuesday. It was said that YG head Yang Hyun-suk liked the single so much that for the first time in more than a decade, he decided to add his own personal imprint.

“It was the first time since Big Mama’s ‘Break Away’ MV 11 years ago that I proposed my own ideas for a YG artist’s music video,” Yang said in an official statement from the entertainment agency.

The lead single has already climbed its way to the top of the local digital singles chart on MelOn, Bugs, Soribada, Mnet and others.

Taeyang’s “Rise” album also includes the previously released hit single “Ringa Linga.” Released last November, the chart topping dance/hip-hop track marked the entertainer’s first solo single in more than three years. It was written and composed by Big Bang leader G-Dragon, alongside popular hip-hop artist Dok2 and Shockbit.

Officials at YG have stated that Taeyang’s solo return will include the release of two more music videos this month. The MV for the single “1 AM” ― written and composed by Teddy ― is scheduled to drop on June 10 at 1 a.m.

“Body,” cowritten and produced by Teddy and Taeyang, is one of the few upbeat dance tracks in the entire album with the chorus of “I got that body, you got that body, now you and me lets make somebody.” The music video for the single is currently in the making and is slated to be released sometime mid-June.

By Julie Jackson (juliejackson@heraldcorp.com)