Construction firm head to be summoned over embezzlement

Wildflower Film Awards Korea to dole out first gongs

kh close


Published : 2014-03-31 20:29
Updated : 2014-03-31 20:29

The newly established Wildflower Film Awards Korea is holding its first awards ceremony Tuesday, recognizing the achievements of Korean independent and low-budget films.

Founded by film critic Darcy Paquet, who has written extensively on Korean cinema, the awards will hand out a total of nine trophies, including Best Film, Best Director, Best Documentary, the Documentary Jury award, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best New Actor or Actress, Best New Director and Best Cinematography.

A total of seven independent films have been nominated for Best Film and Best Director awards. They are: Lee Don-gu’s drama “Fatal”; Shin Yeon-shick’s unusual romance “The Russian Novel”; Shin Su-won’s brutal teenage tale “Pluto”; Yeon Sang-ho’s animated film “The Fake”; Um Tae-hwa’s action flick “Intoogi: The Battle of Internet Trolls”; Jang Kun-tae’s romance “Sleepless Night”’; and O Muel’s tragic Jeju tale “Jiseul.”

The award ceremony will take place at the Literature House Seoul on Tuesday.

By Claire Lee (

Photo News

‘개그콘서트’ 이연, 탄탄한 몸매+애플힙…누구?

트레이너 정아름, 환상적인 몸매 뽐내

수지, 이곳에서 이민호와 데이트? 런던 화보 공개