[Weekender] The rise of cable TV

Three get Wisconsin alumni awards

kh close


Published : 2014-01-23 19:40
Updated : 2014-01-23 19:40

(from left) Yoon Jeung-hyun, Kang Hyeon-bae and Dennis Hong

The Korean chapter of the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s alumni association will present “proud alumni” awards to three graduates in a ceremony at a Seoul hotel on Saturday.

The recipients are former Minister of Strategy and Finance Yoon Jeung-hyun, Inha University’s department of mathematics chair professor Kang Hyeon-bae and Virginia Tech.’s assistant professor of mechanical engineering Dennis Hong.

Yoon was recognized for his contribution to stabilizing the finance market while serving as Financial Service Commission chairman (2004-2007) and strategy and finance minister (2009-2011).

Kang is a renowned mathematician who solved a thorny math problem that had been puzzling academics for more than 60 years.

Hong is a world-renowned robotics engineer who has pioneered several breakthroughs in robot design and engineering.

The annual awards ceremony of the alumni association began last year in recognition of their contribution to the enhancement of the status of the university.

The year’s awards ceremony will be attended by some 200 alumni, including Saenuri lawmaker Choi Kyung-hwan, chief of the alumni association.

Last year’s recipients were GS Caltex chairman Hur Dong-soo, Seoul National University education professor Kim Ki-seok and Pohang University of Science and Technology president Kim Yong-min.

By Suk Gee-hyun (monicasuk@heraldcorp.com)

Photo News

티아라 효민 멋진 뒤태에 남심 흔들

섹시백 선발대회 몸매 뽐내는 참가자들

카자흐 女배구선수 초특급 미모, 전세계 ‘깜짝’