Samsung announces Ho-Am Prize winners

By Korea Herald
  • Published : Apr 3, 2013 - 19:30
  • Updated : Apr 3, 2013 - 19:30
Samsung Group on Wednesday announced the six winners of its Ho-Am Prize for this year in the fields of science, engineering, medicine, arts and community service.

The prizes, which will be given at an event in Seoul on May 31, were awarded to Harold Y. Hwang, a professor at Stanford University, in science; Kim Sang-tae, distinguished professor at Purdue University, in engineering; Lee Se-jin, a professor at Johns Hopkins University, in medicine; novelist Shin Kyoung-sook, in arts; and Rhee Chong-man and Kim Hyun-sook, a couple running the Only Grace Social Welfare Foundation, in community service, its officials said.
Winners from left are Harold Y. Hwang, Kim Sang-tae, Lee Se-jin, Shin Kyoung-sook, Kim Hyun-sook and Rhee Chong-man. (Samsung)

The awardees will each be granted 300 million won ($268,000) as well as a medal and diploma at the ceremony attended by Samsung chairman Lee Kun-hee next month.

“The recipients for 2013 are world-renowned scholars and specialists in their respective fields representing a wide range of activities at home and abroad,” said the group in a statement.

The Ho-Am Prize, established by chairman Lee in 1990, was created with the vision to build a new corporate culture that aims to support the spirit of public service.

By Cho Ji-hyun (