Pop culture icons honored by Culture Ministry

  • Published : Nov 22, 2010 - 17:23
  • Updated : Nov 22, 2010 - 17:23

Korean pop culture icons including groups Big Bang and Super Junior have been honored by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism for their strong role in heating up the Korean Wave.

The ministry and Korea Creative Content Agency established a new annual award, “Korea Pop Culture Arts Award,” to recognize pop culture artists and boost morale in the pop industry.

Culture Minister Yu In-chon’s honors were conferred to five-member male group Big Bang and 13-member male group Super Junior at the Shilla Seoul on Monday.

Veteran actor Shin Goo was given a culture medal for contributing to the pop culture industry for the past 50 years, the ministry said.

Actress Kim Tae-hee was also honored by the KCCA.

Korean singer Joo Hyun-mi and folk singer Yoon Hyung-joo received President Lee Myung-bak’s citation, while actress Kim Hae-sook, voice actor Bae Han-seong, singer Lee Sun-hee, comedian Nam Seong-na, and actress Jeong Hae-seon were given Prime Minister Kim Hwang-sik’s citations.

Separately, the Culture Ministry said it plans to build a hall of fame to recognize pop culture artists who contributed to the advancement of Korean pop arts and the Korean Wave. To do so, it will seek cooperation with local autonomous governments and private organizations, the ministry said.

By Kim Yoon-mi (