Back To Top

[Today’s K-pop] TXT gives taste of upcoming repack

(Credit: Big Hit Music)
(Credit: Big Hit Music)

Tomorrow X Together shared a preview of its repackaged second studio album on Wednesday.

The video snippet included samples of three songs from the repackaged album titled “The Chaos Chapter: Fight or Escape” -- title track “LO$ER=LO♡ER,” “Exchange Diary” and “0X1=LOVESONG (I Know I Love You) feat. Seori (Emocore Mix).”

The focus track is about a boy who may look like a loser but hopes to love someone who means the world to him. “Exchange Diary” is a song dedicated to its fans, a first for the boy band. The bandmates wrote the words for the song that would make their fans want to dance with its catchy chorus. Meanwhile, the title track from its second LP takes a darker turn, leaning towards rock, with rougher guitar sounds.

The second LP, “The Chaos Chapter: Freeze” entered Billboard 200 at No. 5 in June and has stayed on the chart for nine consecutive weeks, becoming the third K-pop male group to achieve the feat.

The repacked album will be fully unveiled on Aug. 17.

Blackpink’s movie draws close to 500,000 audiences in 5 days

(Credit: YG Entertainment)
(Credit: YG Entertainment)

Blackpink’s movie attracted almost half a million fans in five days since it premiered on Aug. 4.

“Blackpink: The Movie” marks the group’s fifth anniversary and is being shown in over 100 countries at over 3,000 cinemas. It will become available to a wider audience as regulations related to the COVID-19 pandemic eases in Indonesia, Thailand and Malaysia where the release of the movie was postponed. It is expected to be shown at more than 4,200 movie theaters in total.

The bandmates celebrated the anniversary with a livestream that drew over 1.76 million concurrent viewers. They also dropped a batch of merchandise, published a photobook, held a small exhibition, and even opened their own island on the Nintendo Switch video game “Animal Crossing: New Horizons.”

In addition, Lisa is slated to put out a solo album soon, following the successes of Jennie and Rose.

SuperM’s Ten tops iTunes chart in 16 regions  

(Credit: SM Entertainment)
(Credit: SM Entertainment)

A new solo song from Ten of SuperM and WayV landed atop iTunes’ top songs chart in 16 regions, label SM Entertainment said Wednesday.

The song titled “Paint Me Naked” came out on Tuesday through the company’s SM Station. The English-language pop rock tune sings of the straightforward and free style the younger generation has toward love to guitar riffs that highlight his dynamic vocals.

The performer has released two solo songs before, “Dream in a Dream” in 2017 and “New Heroes” in 2018, through SM Station.

Ten hails from Thailand and debuted as a member of seven-piece boy band WayV in 2019 in China with “The Vision - The 1st Digital EP.” He also has been a member of SuperM since 2020.

Enhypen celebrates platinum certification in Japan  

(Credit: Belief Lab)
(Credit: Belief Lab)

Enhypen unveiled its first performance of “Forget Me Not,” the band’s first Japanese song, on Tuesday.

The video clip appeared on its YouTube channel showing the seven bandmates perform during the online showcase for “Border: Hakanai,” its debut single in Japan, last month. “Forget Me Not” is a track from the single that came out in July and was chosen as an opening theme song for the Japanese TV animation “Re-main.”

The septet shared the video to mark earning a platinum disc certification, its first, with the debut single that shipped over 250,000 copies. The single hit No. 1 on Oricon’s daily chart upon release and stayed on for a week, subsequently landing atop its weekly chart. Its sales in the first week was the second most for an international male artist and earned the certification from the Recording Industry Association of Japan Tuesday.

By Hwang You-mee (