Singers resume releases delayed by ferry disaster

By Lee Woo-young
  • Published : May 9, 2014 - 21:09
  • Updated : May 9, 2014 - 21:09
(from left) g.o.d.’s “The Lone Duckling” (IHQ), Baek Ji-young’s “Bulggot” (WS Entertainment)
Singers are resuming releases stalled after the Sewol ferry disaster in April.

They have delayed their releases amid national grief over the ferry sinking off the southern coast on April 16, which killed 269 passengers and left 35 people still missing.

EXO released their second EP “Overdose” on Wednesday, followed by single “Bulggot” by Baek Ji-young. K-pop group g.o.d. reunited and made a full comeback on Thursday after 12 years apart by releasing the single “The Lone Duckling.”

Hip-hop musician Junggigo announced his single “I Want You” on Friday.

Next week will see more releases by Wheesung, G.NA and Jeon Hyo-sung from the girl group Secret.

Wheesung will release a mini-album “The Best Man” on Monday. It is his first official EP release in more than two years. Since completing his military duty last August, Wheesung has released only one single “Special Love,” a duet with Gummy. 
(From left) Junggigo’s “I Want You” (Starship Entertainment), A teaser image for Wheesung’s “The Best Man” (YMC Entertainment)

Gummy is working on a new EP for release in early June, according to her agency C-Jes Entertainment. It was originally scheduled to be released early May. The album will feature her signature R&B style and explore various genres of music in line with the spring season.

She is also expected to hold a concert at Auditorium at Coex in Samseong-dong on July 19 to mark her EP release.

Jiyeon from T-ara and Jeon Hyo-sung from Secret are going solo this spring. Jiyeon is releasing her first EP, “Never Ever,” which consists of the title track “1 Min 1 SEC” and five other songs. Jeon will showcase dance music grafted with trap, a style of hip-hop.

R&B duo Fly to the Sky is releasing their 9th studio album “Continuum” on May 20, breaking their five-year hiatus. The group 4Men will release its fifth studio album, “1998,” on May 13.

By Lee Woo-young (wylee@heraldcorp.com)