Back To Top

KBO playoff schedule set

The nation’s top baseball league on Tuesday announced the playoff schedule for this fall.

The Korea Baseball Organization said the postseason will get underway on Oct. 8 and the championship Korean Series, if it goes the distance, will end on Nov. 1.

In the eight-team KBO, the top four teams advance to the playoffs. The regular season champion gets a bye to the Korean Series, while the No. 2 team goes straight to the second round. The No. 3 and the No. 4 teams square off in the best-of-five first round, and the winner goes on to meet the second-seeded club. The second round is also best-of-five, and the Korean Series is best-of-seven.

Through Monday’s games, the defending champions Samsung Lions ranked first with 72 wins, 48 losses and two ties, leading the SK Wyverns by 6 1/2 games with 11 games left to play. The Wyverns in second place led the Lotte Giants by 2 1/2 games. The Giants and the Doosan Bears were tied for third. (Yonhap News)