Samsung founder joins CEA’s Hall of Fame

By Korea Herald
  • Published : May 2, 2012 - 18:47
  • Updated : May 2, 2012 - 18:47
Samsung Group founder Lee Byung-chull was selected for the Consumer Electronics Association’s 2012 Hall of Fame. Along with LG Group founder Koo In-hwoi, Lee is the first Korean to be included in the list.

The U.S.-based CEA, the organizer of the world’s biggest annual electronics trade show in Las Vegas, announced on Tuesday 12 the honorees, including Lee and Koo. 
Lee Byung-chull

“This elite group of leaders has laid the foundation that our industry continues to build upon,” said CEA President and chief executive Gary Shapiro.

“Their vision, drive to excel and enthusiasm have helped to create the innovative consumer electronics products and services that have improved the lives of consumers worldwide. It is a pleasure to recognize this prestigious group.”

Lee pioneered Korea’s electronic industry, founding Samsung Electronics and Samsung Sanyo Electronics in 1969 and Samsung NEC in 1970. He set the stepping stone for Samsung Electronics to grow into a global company by buying Korea Semiconductor in 1977.

Established in 2000, the CEA Hall of Fame honors leaders in the consumer technology industry who promoted technology and dedicated to the development of the industry. About 160 have been inducted so far.

The new honorees will be inducted into the organization’s Hall of Fame during an awards dinner held in San Francisco on Oct. 16.

By Park Min-young  (