Back To Top

Youm to lead U.S. Journalism Association

Youm Kyu-ho, professor at the School of Journalism and Communication at the University of Oregon, was elected president of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication last week.

It is the first time a Korean has headed the association. He will serve as president-elect from 2011 to 2012, and as president from 2012 to 2013.

In 1991, he was selected as one of the seven most remarkable scholars in the field of journalism and mass communication.

Currently, Youm sits on the editorial boards of a dozen law and communication journals in the United States, England, and Australia, including Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly, Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media, Communication Law & Policy, and Media & Arts Law Review.

He earned his master’s degree in journalism at Southern Illinois University in 1982 and his doctoral degree at the same university in 1985. He also received master’s degrees at Yale Law School in 1998 and Oxford University in 2006. He started his career in 1985 as a professor in the U.S.


Gynecologist Kim entered in ABI dictionary

Kim Heung-yeol, a professor at the Obstetrics & Gynecology Department of Kosin University Gospel Hospital, will be recorded in the 2011 edition of “American Biographical Institute,” one of the three authoritative dictionaries of the world according to the Marquis Who’s Who and the International Biographical Center.

The ABI recognized Kim as “Man of the Year in Medicine & Healthcare 2011,” the hospital based in Busan, South Gyeonsang Province said.

Kim has been actively publishing papers on minimal invasive laparoscopic surgery, menopause hormone therapy and gynecological cancer therapy at home and abroad.


Kim Yu-na nominated for Sportswoman of the Year

Figure skating queen Kim Yu-na has been nominated for the “Sportswoman of the Year Award” to be given by the Women’s Sports Foundation.

It is the second consecutive time she has been nominated for the annual title.

The foundation is accepting one vote per person, on 10 nominees, by email to its website. The ten nominees were selected for the 2010 award based on their athletic achievements from last August to July 31.

Winners will be honored at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City on Oct. 12.

The other nominees include Serena Williams, Wimbledon 2010 women’s single winner and Lindsey Vonn, 2010 Winter Olympics alpine skiing champion.

Past recipients include former American national figure skater Michelle Kwan (1998), and professional golfer Juli Inkster (1999).

The foundation was established by legendary American tennis player Billy Jean King in 1974.